top of page

Learning & Development

"Education is the most powerful weapon which   you can use to change the world". Nelson Mandela
Puddletown Preschool Syllabus 

The EYFS guidance document is a statutory document that informs our planning for all children’s learning and development from birth to the end of the Reception year at school.  The document is organised into seven areas of learning:

  •   Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  •   Communication

  •   Physical Development

  •   Expressive Arts and Design

  •   Mathematics

  •   Literacy

  •   Understanding of the World

Play helps young children to learn and develop through doing and talking, which research has shown to be the means by which young children learn to think.  Our setting uses the practice guidance Early Years Foundation Stage to plan and provide a range of play activities which help children to make progress in each of the areas of learning and development. In some of these activities children decide how they will use the activity and, in others, an adult takes the lead in helping the children to take part in the activity.  In all activities information from the practice guidance to the Early Years Foundation Stage has been used to decide how and what to provide.

bottom of page